Uncategorized

Fight Against the Rebellion!

I am looking forward to turning 15 tomorrow! Although I can’t believe I am already turning 15, I am excited! Not ONLY because I can get my driving permit, and am turning a year older (yes, I am very excited about theses!), but also because I am getting new opportunities as an older teenager.

I like it when I go to church and get asked to help in the infant and toddler nurseryย  because they know that I will always say yes (I can’t seem to say no to holding little babies!)!

I enjoy being one of the older kids in my home school group as well. This year was my first year to get to be a “helper” at field day and I was with my friend at the ribbon table. It was fun to sort all of the ribbons and see the kids’ faces as they found out who got first place! I also helped in my Nana’s sewing class this year.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not bragging by any means. I am simply stating all of the opportunities I have as a 14/15 year old. Some 14 year old needs to hear that they are not too young to be a big help. You’re never too young to help anyone, no matter how old you are. Because, I have learned that adults, especially seniors, love it when children ask to help them, even more so when a teenager asks. Why? Because teenagers have this horrible reputation as a rebellious, self-centered, I’m-all-that kinda attitude and when you, as a teenager, take time out of your day to ask someone at the grocery store if they need help reaching something off the top shelf, they are surprised that a supposed-to-be-snotty-teenager is offering help and then, they might quit looking at ALL teenagers as rebels. And maybe, if every teenager in this generation would fight against the rebellion reputation, it might just fall off.

My favorite verse is Ecclesiastes 11:9,

“You who are young, make the most of your youth. Relish you youthful vigor. Follow the impulses of your heart. If something looks good to you, pursue it. But know also that not just anything goes; You have to answer to God for every last bit of it.”

I don’t want to get to Heaven and know that I could have done more during my youth to make Him known. And I don’t want anyone else to either.ย  So, please try to take time out of your day to help someone, less than a minute is all that is needed to make someone view teenagers differently.

4 thoughts on “Fight Against the Rebellion!”

  1. Happy birthday! I am so proud of the young woman you are! Be sure to let Jesus shine brightly in your life…always! Love you ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

