Uncategorized

Ecclesiastes 11:9

“Rejoice, O young man, in your youth, and let your heart cheer you in the days of your youth. Walk in the ways of your heart and the sight of your eyes. But know that for all these things God will bring you into judgement.”

This is my favorite memory verse. Why? Because this verse says that He wants us young people to enjoy our youth, but yet still have discernment in what we enjoy. This post is really only addressing other youth, an encouraging word from one youth to another.

When we are young, we don’t have that many responsibilities, yes chores, but not many of us have to work to pay for all the bills and worry about what we are going to eat the next week, or figure out why the car all the sudden is making weird noises, or all the things that adults have to worry about to take care of us. Really, think about this before you answer, would you like to be your parents for a day? Not likely.

All we teens have to actually fret about (responsibility-wise) is our school grades (which plays a part in what you do with your life as an adult), a job if you work, and how to text everyone you know in under five minutes (so I just threw that one in there to see if you were paying attention)! Okay really, I don’t know what all your responsibilities are (and they are all important) but I know that we all have time to hang out with friends, play video games, and so on after our responsibilities are finished. Am I right?

So, all I am here to say is that we need to make sure our enjoyment lines up with His word. Because Ecclesiastes 11:9 says “…But know for all these things God will bring you into judgement.” I don’t want to have “fun” and know that my idea of enjoyment could cost me an eternity away from my Father.

So, all that being said, I will leave you with this sentence, write it down, hang it on your mirror, or memorize it, then recite it when you need to remember it, you’ll thank me for it later(!):

                                                      Your youth is precious, don’t waste it.

3 thoughts on “Ecclesiastes 11:9”

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

