Uncategorized

A Quote That I Want to Memorize!

“Writing is a blessed vocation, even without the unction to write for God. When you experience the sensation of the Holy Spirit guiding the pen, it becomes a high calling. Writing is this introvert’s God-given way to share the Good News.”

– Marcia Gruver

I have said that I want to be a writer for quite some time now. I just love to sit down and hold my very favorite pencil and write whatever comes to me. Whether that be a story, something I have been thinking about, or a Scripture verse that stuck out.

A few weeks ago, however, my Youth Pastor asked a question that I had never thought about. “Have you asked God what He wants you to be?” The truth is, I hadn’t. I just knew I was going to write, I was going to use my writing to please Him, but I hadn’t actually had a confirmation that being a writer was what I was made for. So, I asked Him.

I didn’t get the answer that day. Or the next. Or the next. But I have been waiting all the same. Then today, my Pastor’s sermon was about how to share the Good News. Well, really on why we, as Christians don’t share the Good News as often as we share the good things that happen to us in our every day life, but that is an entirely different post for an entirely different time (:-)). But, my mind was really on how I was going to share the Good News.

You see, I have a horrible case of stage fright, only, it doesn’t show up only on stage, it shows up when I am talking about anything important. Because, I don’t want to say the wrong thing that gives an entirely different message. So, I always write want I want to say and then read it out loud, it is easier for me that way, I can think better when I write. But, God hadn’t yet confirmed that I was going to be a writer, so I was wondering HOW.

Anyways, when I got home from church today, I was looking up some authors and came across Marcia Gruver’s home page. And what do you know, that quote was right there! As soon as I saw it I knew I had my confirmation! I can’t really explain why it is my confirmation, I just know it is.

So, I will be using my hobby, calling, gift, whatever you want to call it, to share the Good News!

“Writing is a blessed vocation, even without the unction to write for God. When you experience the sensation of the Holy Spirit guiding the pen, it becomes a high calling. Writing is this introvert’s God-given way to share the Good News.”

-Marcia Gruver

5 thoughts on “A Quote That I Want to Memorize!”

  1. I think you are a very talented, beautiful young lady and I know you will follow gods path with great success. I love to read your writing. It is very inspirational.Love you!

  2. WOW!!! God is so awesome!!! I love seeing Him move in the hearts of the next generation!!! I love even more that you are listening for Him and to Him!!!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

