Uncategorized

Book Review: Eyes Wide Open by Ted Dekker

Eyes-Wide-Open-Ted-Dekker

The Synopsis:

“I’m buried in a coffin under tons of concrete. No one knows where I am. My heart sounds like a monster with clobber feet, running straight toward me. I’m lying on my back, soaked with sweat from the hair on my head to the soles of my feet. My hands and feet won’t stop shaking.

Some will say that I’m not really here. Some will say I’m delusional. Some say that I don’t even exist. But who are they? I’m the one buried in a grave.

My name is Christy Snow. I’m seventeen. I’m about to die.”

My Review:

I know that this does not sound like a book that I would normally read, and normally, I would have never given it a second glance given the synopsis above. But, I read something that was about the book that made me want to read it, I never read the synopsis until I got the book in the mail.

Eyes Wide Open is a pretty interesting book. You definitely have to be focused when you are reading it, otherwise you will miss something. The storyline was mind-boggling, in a good way. I would think I knew what was going on, but Dekker always made sure you were just a clueless of what was happening as the characters were.

The characters were so realistic. They had their weaknesses, but yet had their strengths. They lost hope, then found it. They were hostage, then found freedom. It was an amazing roller coaster of adrenaline and wonder as the scenes unfolded and Christy and Austin found out who they really were.

There were also good virtues in Eyes Wide Open, like not being obsessed with outer beauty, not relying on your own understanding instead of believing what God tells you (whether you understand it or not), and to have faith and hope in times of trial.

Eyes Wide Open was a fantastic read and I encourage you to read it as well.

“I received this book from Worthy Publishing for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Eyes Wide Open by Ted Dekker”

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

