Uncategorized

Book Review: Happy To Be Alive, Because by Chelsea Jacobs

Happy to be alive

The Synopsis:

Avery is a seventeen-year-old girl whose reality has just been shattered by the death of her mother. Feeling a desperate need to flee from what has become her life, she follows a travel plan meant for her mom that leads her to the little beach town where her mom grew up. It’s there that she meets a group of three adventurous friends who adopt her into their circle, allowing her to experience a summer she never thought would be possible after suffering such a great loss. Unfortunately, her summer full of experiences threatens to end abruptly when she realizes that one of the three has a secret that causes her to question everything about the new life she has been building. Avery must learn to balance her grief and her desire for a future in order to achieve her mother’s final wish for her: That she would be happy to be alive.

My Review:

This was one of the best books I have read in a long time! I literally could not put it down once I started it and finished it in about 4 hours straight! What caused this book to be so awesome was the simplicity of the story-line, the way the characters were so charmingly made, but I think how the book was written was the best. I loved the way Chelsea wrote! There is just enough emotion in the book to make it seem real, but yet not completely over doing it and making it a sappy book.

In my opinion, I think it would be very hard to write a believable story in which characters become the best of friends in about two months. Yet this is exactly what Chelsea did, it seemed so natural for them to be friends in such short time, because of the way the characters were and the setting of the story. The writing was almost perfect!

I would really rather leave the negative parts out because they are really tiny, but because I try to write the most honest reviews possible, I have to mention them.

 Avery (main character, of which the book is written in her POV), seemed to go on and on about how she had no idea what she was doing. And I understand that the author was trying to show how confused and lost Avery was, and a lot of these mentionings were necessary to the story, and I understood where Avery was coming from and why she made the decisions she did. But, somewhere along the line she started saying how confused she was nearly every time she reflected on her own thoughts and this caused me to skip a few paragraphs without thinking much about it. As I said, these are really tiny negativities.

There was quite a bit of kissing and some older teen jokes/comments that I would suggest be kept at an audience of at least 13 years old. However the dating taken place in this book was extremely respectful and pleasing to read, it didn’t give off an awkward feel.

So having said all this, I still give Happy To Be Alive, Because a five star rating out of five for my four hours of pleasure! I highly, highly recommend it, especially as a good beach read!

“I received this book from the publisher via Litfuse blogger program. All comments and opinions are my own.”

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

