Uncategorized

Another Story I am Currently Working On

I am not sure if any other writers write a story in their head for months before they ever put it down on paper, but that is how I write. I am always getting great story ideas, sometimes 7 or 8 a day, but I never actually begin writing the story unless it has been on my mind for at least 6 months, that way I know that I know that I know that the story will keep my attention. So, having said that, below is the prologue to my currently untitled story that has been baking in my brain for the last 6 months:

Prolgue

The machine buzzed and lights flickered in the dusty old lab. Thomas Jeffery stood hunched over his beloved masterpiece, wrench in one hand, needle-nose pliers in the other, earnestly tightening bolts under his headlight.

His phone began buzzing and vibrating for the seventh time in the last fifteen minutes, but this time, instead of just pressing the end button, he tossed the iPhone into the trashcan across the room and went back to work. He never once looked to see who was calling.

His computer screen began beeping as one of the wire connections came loose. He hurriedly searched the computer screen to find the location of the loose wire as the beep became more urgent.

Using his finger on the touch screen to zoom in and move the screen to different angles, he could not find the source of the problem. Sweat began to drip off of his forehead as he tried to keep from panicking when a blinking red box covered his screen reading “Critical”.

“Oh no baby! Not yet! Not after all this time, I just have to find the wire! Please let me find the wire!” He yelled and quickly turned to the breaker box of his machine.

Throwing the lid open on the box, he thrust his pliers in and began moving wires around in hopes of hitting the loose one. As the tips of the pliers hit a wire that slowed the beeping and forced the blinking, red, “Critical” box to disappear, the machine started smoking on the other end.

Thomas had no warning of what was coming, he tightened the wire with a smile on his face and breathing a deep sigh of relief when he was suddenly thrown into the wall by a powerful force of heat and high pressured air.

He was immediately knocked unconscious and fell face down to the ground as his years of hard work, the project that he had started when he was just sixteen, burned to the ground right in front of him.

****

Let me know what you think about it, and just for a bonus, do any of you have any idea what the machine is supposed to do???? Answer in the comments πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Another Story I am Currently Working On”

  1. Hm…. maybe a car?

    I don’t usually wait six months, but I have done a lot of head-plotting and Pinterest pinning before fully starting a story.

    1. Sorry Grace….No car πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I don’t always wait six months, but normally that”s how long it takes for me to get all the details out……

    1. (I’m sorry, I accidentally posted that comment…)
      As a writer who has almost lost her manuscript several times, I can imagine how much that would hurt.

      As for what the machine is… He called it his baby, so might it be something Freinkenstien-like? Then again, it might just have been because he was working on it for so long.

      The writing is excellent! Do you plan on posting more?

      1. Thank you!
        And you are close…..although i would not call it like “Frankenstein”, it is a personal invention that he has grown very fond of and poured most of his life into.
        And i might post the rest of the prologue after i finish editing it…..
        Thank you very much for commenting!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

