Uncategorized

Heads Up! Updates on Book Reviews

*So, as I typed “Heads Up” for the title, I pictured the scene from Frozen where Olaf says these exact words…..You have no idea how tempted I was to finish the line!!!*

So, on to the important things. Book Reviews. No, I am not here to tell you that I am ceasing to write reviews, I am simply here to tell you that I will be writing reviews for different kinds of books.

I have reviewed two children’s books in the past few months (Samantha Sanderson; At the Movies and The Imagination Station; Captured on the High Seas), youth fiction (Crater Trueblood and the Lunar Rescue Company for example), and I have proof-read a few books for my siblings in between. And, sadly, it has come to my family’s and my attention that children’s books these days (especially Youth) are lacking in family qualities, wholesome realistic characters, or good story plot. Where a book will have Christian morals and family time, it may lack in story. Where the book (specifying to Youth here) will have amazing characters and story plot, it will lack in morals and the simple family qualities, like eating dinner as a family (without a cell phone I might add…).

Because God put this on my heart (and my family’s), and because I have this blog, I will be reviewing mainly children’s books and youth fiction (or YA, whatever you want to call it) for a while. There will still be a few “older” books here and there throughout the months, but very few. I will be reviewing for both boys and girls, so there might be a series that is geared for young boys every now and then as well.

HOW IT’S GOING TO WORK

I will be splitting the reviews up into categories; children’s 2-6ish will be called Tot’s Reviews; 6-11 will be Youngsters Reviews; 12-15 will be Youth Reviews; and the category containing the books I normally read (Historical Fiction; Suspense; Contemporary Romance etc….) will be titled Rayleigh’s Reviews (because I really cannot come up with a better name…). Every now and then, I will review a cookbook or devotional, these types of book will be under the category, Other Reviews.

Every time I post a book review, it will have the category title in the post’s name. For example, the review for Samantha Sanderson; At the Movies would be titled: “A Youngster’s Review: Samantha Sanderson; At the Movies by Robin Caroll”.

Each review will contain the cover image, the synopsis, my review, the author bio, a link to the author’s website/blog, and a link to buy that book from either Christian Books or Amazon, in that order.

My review will consist of “Ups”, which are obviously the good parts about the book; “Downs”, which are what I think the book was lacking (or had to much of)  from a Christian’s perspective; and “Overalls”, which will have my overall opinion of the book, who I mostly recommend it to, and what I rate it on a scale of 1 to 5.

So, I hope that I covered everything and if you have any questions drop a comment below or shoot me an email at typewritersheart(at)gmail(dot)com

Thanks so much to all of you who follow me and to those who have helped spread the word about my blog, I appreciate you all so much!

4 thoughts on “Heads Up! Updates on Book Reviews”

  1. Oh, I like this idea. I will, I suspect, be missing the book reviews for older people, but I have many small brothers and sisters, and I love the idea of being able to look to your blog for suggestions and reviews. There’s a lot of blogs that review Young Adult or New Adult books, but not very many that write reviews for children books. I’m glad that you’ll be doing this. 🙂

    1. Thank you! I have noticed that as well, that most blogs review YA and Adult. Most of my family is involved of a children’s ministry of some kind and of many ages. I honestly don’t know why I have never thought of this before, but better late than never right? I am glad that I will be able to help you and your family, please feel free to pass my blog on to anyone else you may think I may help, books are very important, but you need to have the right ones!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

