Uncategorized

A Youth Review: Tremors by Bonnie S. Calhoun

Tremors

The Synopsis:

In this gripping prequel to Thunder , unsettling secrets change Selah Chavez’s life forever in the days before her 18th Born Remembrance.

THIS IS A BONUS REVIEW! I WILL BE REVIEWING THUNDER VERY SOON! BUT, JUST SO YOU KNOW…..

Thunder by Bonnie S. Calhoun SYNOPSIS

In post-apocalyptic America, Selah Chavez is crouched in long grass on a shore littered with the rusted metal remnants of a once-great city. It is the day before her eighteenth Born Remembrance, and she is hunting, though many people refuse to eat animal flesh, tainted by radiation during the Time of Sorrows. What Selah’s really after are Landers, mysterious people from a land across the big water who survive the delirium-inducing passage in small boats that occasionally crash against the shoreline. She knows she should leave the capture to the men, but Landers bring a good price from the Company and are especially prized if they keep the markings they arrive with.
Everything falls to pieces when the Lander Selah catches is stolen by her brothers–and Selah wakes up the next morning to find the Lander’s distinctive mark has suddenly appeared on her own flesh. Once the hunter, Selah is now one of the hunted, and she knows only one person who can help her–Bohdi Locke, the Lander her brothers hope to sell.

My Review:

UPS: I have been beyond anxious waiting for Thunder, so I jumped at the chance to read the short prequel (that happened to be free on Amazon ;-), Tremors on my kindle. Though the very beginning of the book had something wrong with the format and I was not able to read the first few pages (I think…), I read enough to know what was going on without being totally confused. Tremors is written in first person, and I really enjoyed the way that it is written and I enjoyed getting to know Selah for that brief amount of time. Tremors is a great set up to Thunder and I would suggest owning (or at least having it on it’s way) Thunder before reading, as it ends leaving you full of questions and wanting to know what happens next (like, I’m starting Thunder tonight!)!

DOWNS: Even though Tremors only has like 3 chapters (took me about 30 minutes to read), it did have some violence and content not recommended for younger audiences (nothing sexual other than a few comments such as, “This one’s for the ladies!”, but from how the storyline was going, I do expect at least kissing to be in the rest of the series.). I would keep the age limit, preferably at, at least 14 years of age, but absolutely not under 13 for the potential violence that I expect from the series.

OVERALL: I give Tremors 5 out of 5 stars for being well written and grabbing my attention from page 1! This is one of the best prequels that I have ever read!

Author Bio/ Website:

Bonnie S Calhoun

As a compliment to my love for writing, I have a natural progression into the marketing and advertising field.

As the Director of the CFBA, I lead a contingency of 250+ book reviewers that do bi-weekly blog tours.

I am the Owner/Publisher of CFOM. The magazine is in its 6th year. Monthly we post a new issue of 35+ columns by the best and brightest authors, publishers, and agents in our industry.

The American Christian Fiction Writers have designated me as the Northeast Zone Director, where I lead the membership loop for New York, New Jersey, and the New England states.

Continue reading about Bonnie at her website: Bonniescalhoun.com

Links For Purchase:

Amazon (Tremors is a FREE ebook!)

Thunder (book one to the Stone Braide Chronicles) available at Amazon 

5 thoughts on “A Youth Review: Tremors by Bonnie S. Calhoun”

  1. I have read this novella as well as have “Thunder” on my bookshelf, so I’m eager to see what comes next! Glad you thought it was promising start. 🙂

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

