Uncategorized

100 for 100 Contest! Go Teen Writers!

100-for-100-badge

The 100 for 100 contest started today and let me just say that I am so very excited! Just to clarify, 100 for 100 is: 100 words for 100 days, meaning, simply, we write AT LEAST 100 words every day for 100 days. This contest is mainly a motivator and habit maker, to motivate writers to get into the habit of writing every day.

I know a few other people who will also be participating in this contest, my sister one, MaKenzie, and I believe a really good writer (also many other areas) friend is participating with her sister as well. So, I am sure there will be some friendly (or not so friendly *evil grin*)Β  competition amongst us πŸ™‚

One of the requirements, however, was slightly on the evil side for me….During this contest you can only count words that have been written on ONE DECIDED MANUSCRIPT!!! No problem for me sticking to one story for 100 days, that’s not what is evil. What was hard was choosing which ONE of my million stories I am dedicating to this contest. Okay so maybe I only have three stories going right now, but still, that’s like choosing a favorite child! I had to choose between the story I started when I was 13, A Queen is Knighted, a story that came to me overnight earlier this year, The Machine, and a writing prompt that has turned into an all out book, The Doors of the Kingdoms (not final title, I refer to it as The Doors quite often so that might be my final title.). So, as you can possibly imagine this was a very tough decision, but I decided that The Doors of the Kingdoms is going to be participating in this particular contest.

I suppose that some of you are wondering why I chose The Doors, so I will go ahead and clarify. Because I started A Queen is Knighted a little over 3 years ago, I was much younger and in all honesty, didn’t know a single thing about writing a story. Yes, A Queen is Knighted has a gripping first few chapters, but about chapter 5, I begin losing sight of how I actually want the story to END. So the story goes haywire for the next 4 or 5 chapters where I just wrote down whatever came to my mind. In order for me to continue writing and finish the story, I would have to go way back in time and re-write most of it, which I do not care to do as of right now.

The reasoning behind my choosing The Doors over The Machine (That sounds like a winner suspense title: The Doors Over the Machine!), is because, in tattling honesty, I like the story of The Doors better than that of The Machine. Oh I love them both, but The Doors is the story that writes itself in my mind all day long, while I have trouble remembering the character’s names in The Machine. I know, such a terrible confession.

I feel like I am beginning to babble now, which is extremely odd, I never babble, must be low on chocolate…..Anyhow, I am going to go now, but on one quick goodbye note, I will try to post my weekly word count here probably on a Sunday or Monday so y’all can keep up with my progress and not be held in total suspense for 100 days!

So! Everyone have a fantastic rest of the day and I will probably be back here soon (I have a Chess Story brewing….mmwawahaha!)!

5 thoughts on “100 for 100 Contest! Go Teen Writers!”

  1. I saw your title and immediately started (mentally) jumping up and down. “Rayleigh’s doing the 100 for 100 challenge, too! Hooray!”
    I wish you the best of blessings, and can’t wait to see how you’re doing over the next hundred days. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

