Uncategorized

A Youth Review: Rebels by Jill Williamson

Rebels

The Synopsis:

In this third book in the series of fantasy/dystopian novels from award-winning author Jill Williamson, three teens must try to hold on to their values amidst the subjugation and lies of the government.

In this final novel of the Safe Lands series by Jill Williamson, Mason and Omar discover the true meaning of Liberation-a secret the Safe Lands have long kept from their people-but find they are trapped in the low lands with this crucial information. Meanwhile, Levi is forced to turn his attention elsewhere when his new wife, Jemma, is captured and becomes the Safe Land’s new queen. His only choice to save her may be to take up the role of undercover vigilante that Omar began, leading the rebels in their quest to overthrow the government. But will that be enough to expose the Safe Land’s lies and bring freedom to the people? And will they even want it if it comes?

My Review:

MY GENERAL THOUGHTS: Wow wow wow! After reading Captives and Outcasts, waiting for Rebels was sheer torture! But now that I have finished Rebels, it was totally worth the wait! The Safe Lands is a 3 book series that you seriously MUST read in order. And any teen (or young adult) absolutely has got to read this series!
As for this book in particular, Rebels had the same charming characters, risky situations, and well made villains. Upon starting, I could not put it down and there were a few scenes where I had to remind myself to breathe! I did find that I wanted something more at the end, but I honestly have no idea what it was I wanted, maybe a solid set in stone ending? I don’t know.

QUESTIONABLE CONTENT: As with the first two books, there is a lot of referring to Alcohol, Drugs and Sex. Though one of the characters participates in all three quite often, it never describes his actions outside of drinking a beer or smoking marijuana. There are kisses amongst other characters as well, and quite a bit of violence.
Oh, and something new that was not in the other books, there is a gay guy. Though nothing is told in his point of view, he does speak to one of (my favorite) characters in a way that is perfectly clear of his intentions.

RATING AND RECOMMENDATION: I give Rebels 5 out of 5 stars and highly, highly, highly recommend it to teens older than 13!

“I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”

Author Bio/ Website:

Jill Williamson

Jill Williamson is a chocolate loving, daydreaming, creator of kingdoms and the award-winning author of several young adult books including By Darkness Hid, Replication, The New Recruit, and Captives. She got into writing one day when someone was complaining about teen books and she thought, β€œI could do that! How hard could it be?” Very, she soon learned. But she worked hard, and four years later, her first book, By Darkness Hid, was published and won several awards.

Jill is a Whovian, a Photoshop addict, and a recovering fashion design assistant, who was raised in Alaska. She loves teaching about writing, which she does weekly at www.GoTeenWriters.com. She lives in Oregon with her husband, two children, and a whole lot of deer. Visit her online at www.jillwilliamson.com, where adventure comes to life.

Links for Purchase:

Amazon

5 thoughts on “A Youth Review: Rebels by Jill Williamson”

  1. I guess when you say gay guy you’re speaking of a certain person whose name starts with S? *shivers* And Mason is the one who is spoken to, yes? I loved these books too! They’re a wonderful illustration of the consequences of a broken world and the possibility for light. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes…you are very right! I agree with you wholeheartedly on the illustration, as I have very few books with as deep messages as The Safe Lands had and it still be an enjoyable read.

  2. These are a series of books I’ve heard A LOT about (usually all good) though haven’t read – I read part of the middle book, but haven’t gotten back to it, however since I do have this one, I should probably finish reading book 2 and now 3. πŸ˜‰

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

