Uncategorized

Rayleigh’s Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

The Daughter of Highland Hall

The Synopsis:

Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow.

My Review:

The Daughter of Highland Hall is set in one of my favorite historical settings, the high society and slums of England, and the author did a fabulous job at captivating the beauty of it, while also shining light on the bad. The characters were very well made and I enjoyed returning to Highland once again to read about Kate. I also enjoyed continuing the story of Lydia, Julia, and all the other fabulous characters that we met in The Governess of Highland Hall. The detail was beautiful, however, it was a little much for my preference as there seemed to be more description rather than dialogue. I also didn’t care for the fact that this book seemed to be written in short scenes of what was going on, rather than flowing in a continuous pace. The author would spend only 2 or 3 pages talking about an outing, or party, and then the next section or chapter would skip to several days later. This was not confusing, Turansky was very clear about letting you know when each particular scene was taking place, but I would have preferred to read more story in longer scenes.

With all of the above, I am rating The Daughter of Highland Hall 4 out of 5 stars for time well spent! I recommend this book to those who have read and enjoyed The Governess of Highland Hall (book 1 to the Edwardian Brides series) by Carrie Turansky and Her Good Name by Ruth Axtell

“I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”

Author Bio/ Website:

Carrie Turansky

Carrie Turansky is the award-winning author of thirteen inspirational romance novels and novellas. She has been a winner of the ACFW Carol Award, the International Digital Award, and the Crystal Globe Award. Her next book will be The Daughter of Highland Hall, releasing 10/07/14. She lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott, who is a pastor, author, speaker and counselor. They have five adult children and four grandchildren. Carrie leads women’s ministry at her church, and when she is not writing she enjoys gardening, reading, flower arranging, and cooking healthy meals for friends and Family.

Link for Purchase:

Amazon

Advertisements

1 thought on “Rayleigh’s Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky”

  1. Glad you liked this one. I’ve not read one of Carrie’s novels (in full) though I am interested in these especially since I’m an avid fan of ‘Downton Abbey.’

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s