Uncategorized

Rayleigh’s Review (Possibly a Youth Review): The Christmas Cat by Melody Carlson

The Christmas Cat

The Synopsis:

After years abroad, Garrison Brown returns home to Vancouver to build a new life. When his beloved grandmother passes away a few weeks before Christmas, Garrison goes to her house to sort out her belongings, including six cats who need new homes. While Garrison hopes to dispense with the task quickly, his grandmother’s instructions don’t allow for speed. She has left Garrison with some challenging requirements for the future homes of her furry friends–plus a sizeable monetary gift for the new owners. Garrison’s job is to match the cats with the right owners without disclosing the surprise gift. Along the way, he may just meet someone who can make him stay.
Humorous and heartwarming, this latest Christmas story from bestselling author Melody Carlson is the perfect gift for pet lovers and anyone in whose heart Christmas holds a special place.

My Review:

The Christmas Cat is a book that I had decided to review as a silly surprise for my family, not because of the book in general or the author, but because, well, lets just say that cats are not my favorite animals. But before you ask why in the world I requested a book that I may not have liked, I am going to tell you that I never would have, had it not been written by Melody Carlson. I have quite a few books by this author and have enjoyed every one of her light reads, plus, I was curious as to how this story played out. As I suspected, The Christmas Cat was a fun little read that I read in roughly 2 and a half hours. I enjoyed reading this unique holiday story, though at times I found it to be cheesy. I could relate to Garrison in a few ways (I am not allergic to cats in any way) and that is another reason I found this book to be entertaining. Overall, I did enjoy The Christmas Cat and would recommend it to fans of Melody Carlson as well as cat-lovers (you do not have to be both 😉 4 out of 5 stars!

*I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”

Author Bio/Website:

Melody Carlson

Melody Carlson is the award-winning author of over two hundred books, several of them Christmas novellas from Revell, including her much-loved and bestselling book, The Christmas Bus.

She also writes many teen books, including the Diary of a Teenage Girl series, the TrueColors series, and the Carter House Girls series.

Melody was nominated for a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award in the inspirational market for her books, including the Notes from a Spinning Planet series and Finding Alice, which is in production as a Lifetime Television movie. She and her husband serve on the Young Life adult committee in central Oregon.

Link for Purchase:

Amazon

2 thoughts on “Rayleigh’s Review (Possibly a Youth Review): The Christmas Cat by Melody Carlson”

    1. Haha it was great! Hope you enjoy it! (Melody Carlson also has a few other books that are similar to this one, like The Christmas Dog and The Christmas Pony. Though I haven’t read either of these I am sure that they will be great like this one!)

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

