Uncategorized

First Speech Tourney

I am sure that I have mentioned before that in this past semester I have been participating in speech. Well, this past weekend was the first tournament that I have ever been a part of, and first off, I had a blast! Yes, my feet were killing me by the end of the second day (wearing 5inch heels is a mistake that I will not make again!) but we really did have fun! I don’t believe that I have ever mentioned what my speech is about, so I will fill you all in and then post some pics:-)

I only participated in one event this year, Original Oratory. Which, in quick summary, is a speech that can be about, just about, anything you want. My speech was about what is in sodas (Coca-Cola in particular), what Caffeine does to our bodies, and how much money we are spending on sodas/energy drinks/coffee. I have had several people tell me that they did not like my speech because it made them want to stop drinking Cokes *sly grin*, and even more people tell me that they are so very happy that I did not make Dr. Pepper the subject of my speech *note to self: next year do a speech about Dr. Pepper*!

I am going to go ahead and answer the question that I am sure you are all asking, no, I did not place in this particular tournament, which is fine! I honestly did not expect to place here because I was going for the experience not the awards. I was also watching a bunch of other events to see if I might be interested in doing another event next year, which so far, I am considering *considering* Debate and Extemporaneous (Extemp)……But I am not sure if I will have time for these events next year or if I even want to do them yet.

But enough about all that, I have some pictures that I want to post!

IMG_4883So….yea, I am addicted to Mt. Dew and this was literally like 5 minutes after I gave my speech. I was called a “hypocrite”ย  numerous times (in jest), but my argument was that I never once mentioned anything about Mt. Dew ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_20141121_112344875The part of my family that went (we were missing my two youngest siblings).

IMG_286705521025442My two sisters and some friends (do you see the guy behind me who saw we were taking a picture and decided to smile? That is a home-schooler for you!)

IMG_30246108723741Hanging out at the tables waiting for next event.

IMG_30214842006212My awesomely, fantastic cousin who won FIRST place in Open Interpretation (O.I; which is an event in which you write your own script and then act it out). His O.I. was about a super-hero named “Woa-Man” and all the famous heroes’ tights! Totally a winner! *If I had a video I’d post it!*

IMG_20141122_214249679And finally this is our club after the tournament (we are missing a few people from this pic…)

Again we had a great time at the November 2014 tournament and look forward to the February 2015 tournament that is coming up!

4 thoughts on “First Speech Tourney”

  1. Aw, man! Coke is my favorite soda! Anyways, it looks like you had a lot of fun at the tournament. I would probably be scared to death of making a speech in front of judges and a bunch of other people, though. I think academic tournaments are pretty fun, though. I did Science Olympiad last year and it’s run much like this speech tournament in that there are a bunch of different hands-on events. That was really fun and surprisingly I did pretty well.

  2. Sounds like you had fun! Was this the first time you did something like this? I think I’ll need to take speech next year for school requirements. I know it’s helpful and all, but it still seems kind of scary. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. We did have a lot of fun! This was my first time to participate in a Speech Tournament, and I was pretty nervous about it when I first joined speech, but as the tourney got closer it didn’t bother me at all.
      Speech is very helpful, definitely a subject in school that you will actually use in the future ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m sure you will enjoy it, especially if you get a good coach ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish you luck in the future school year!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

