Uncategorized

A Youth Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner

The Synopsis:

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

My Review:

PERSONAL RAMBLINGS- I read The Maze Runner in record time it was just so good! I had never even heard of The Maze Runner until I stumbled across the game on my phone (which is totally awesome by the way! All you fans of Temple Run 1 and 2, I highly suggest you get it!). The game includes the trailer to The Maze Runner movie that just came out, I watched it and immediately looked forward to watching the movie. But then I found out that there was a whole series, so of course I bought all the books (which were on sale at Amazon;-) So here is my review for the first book in The Maze Runner Series, The Maze Runner!

ACTUAL REVIEW-The Maze Runner grabbed my attention from page 1 and still has yet to let it go as I continue the series. I love the way James wrote this book, in 3rd person but focusing solely on Thomas so we are not jumping around from character to character. The story was greatly thought out and I loved each and everyone of the characters. Even though this book was on the tense side, my favorite character (Minho) kept the book light and I found myself laughing in some of the tensest moments because of his sarcastic comments.

QUESTIONABLE CONTENT- I was very surprised at how little the Q.C was, there was absolutely no cussing and no kissing. But there was some crass talking that some might find irritating and the Gladers have their own vocabulary that they use to “cuss” (For example “shuck-it”), and they call each other many things such as “shuck-face”, “shank”, “klunk-head” etc. The words in our vocabulary that are used by the Gladers, are “sucks”, “crap” and a few others along these lines, but again no cuss words. The violence in The Maze Runner was mild throughout the book, but sky-rocketed towards the end. Though the violence was not overly detailed, it was enough to give you some visuals that could be somewhat disturbing depending on how well the reader pictures what he/she is reading.

OVERALL RATING- I rate The Maze Runner 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who is an avid fan of Y.A. You will not regret reading this series!

*Note: I am already over halfway finished with book 2, The Scorch Trials. And I am just giving a small warning, the violence in The Scorch Trials is A LOT more than that of which is present in The Maze Runner and I have stumbled across several cuss words and God’s name has been taken in vain many times.*

Author Bio/Website:

James DashnerJames is the author of THE MAZE RUNNER trilogy and THE 13TH REALITY series. He also published a series (beginning with A DOOR IN THE WOODS) with a small publisher several years ago. He lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains.

Link for Purchase:

Amazon

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

