Uncategorized

A Youth Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner (The Maze Runner #3)

The Death Cure

The Synopsis:

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

My Review:

Here are the links to my reviews of The Maze Runner (#1) and The Scorch Trials (#2).

If you read the above reviews, then you should be well aware of the fact that I loved The Maze Runner but didn’t care to much for The Scorch Trials because of all the violence and language. Sadly, I had the same issue with this book, however the violence was not as surprising as in book 2, the language was considerably more.

The violence came completely from the “Cranks”, which I described in my review of The Scorch Trials as people who, basically, are zombie people consumed with rabies, acting insane and inhumane. Well, in this books the “Cranks” resort to eating each other (or really, anything that moves), which is so disturbing that I can’t even begin to explain my disgust. No, there are no scenes that actually show this happening *huge sigh of relief* but Dashner definitely hints enough for you to get the idea. He is also pretty detailed when it comes to describing the violence so there is lots of violence. The language consists of “h*ll” and “da*m” and are very frequent, each said at least twice in every chapter.

Aside from the above, the things that I was pleased with was, of course, the way Dashner wrote. His is probably one of my favorite writing styles, I just love it! The characters were great as well and I was glad to finish Thomas’s story, though, let’s just say that I would have NEVER ended it the way Dashner did, but I am not Dashner 😉

Looking at all of the above, I can only bring myself to rate The Death Cure 2 out of 5 stars because of the overall storyline, but I am still a fan of James Dashner and intend to read The Kill Order. I am sad that I didn’t like the last two books, but honestly, I do hope to read more of Dashner’s books.

Author Bio:

James DashnerJames is the author of THE MAZE RUNNER trilogy and THE 13TH REALITY series. He also published a series (beginning with A DOOR IN THE WOODS) with a small publisher several years ago. He lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains.

Link for Purchase:

Amazon

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

