Uncategorized

Youngster Review: When I Grow Up I want to be a Veterinarian by WIGU

WIGU-Veterinarian

The Synopsis:

Sofia wants to care for all the animals in the world. But Mom does not think Sofia is ready for the responsibility of even one pet. Ready or not, when a hungry and sick-looking cat appears at the familyโ€™s back doorstep, Sofia takes action. When Sofia is found feeding the cat, Mom gives in and agrees that a trip to the vet will tell them if the cat is healthy and not someoneโ€™s lost pet. As the veterinarian introduces Sofia and readers to the important and wide-ranging work of animal doctors, Sofia learns how she might help all kinds of animals, including a little stray cat!

My Review:

I have mixed emotions about this book. It was very informative about the different types of veterinarians that there are and I loved all of the animals facts that were found throughout the story. Even the story of Sophia was a nice touch, but I found that story to be very poorly written. The sentences did not flow right and the I didn’t care for how the mother of story seemed to “wear the pants” in the family and was portrayed as a mother who “always said no and meant it!”. Sophia had a pouty attitude throughout the story and though the mother finally explained why Sophia could not have a pet do to the responsibility one requires, it was done harshly and a little late, the mother should have explained this to her daughter in the beginning.

Had the above been the only thing I disliked, I would have still given this book 4 stars, but, in the facts about describing dogs, this book portrays its evolutionary base; saying that the dog evolved from the wolf some thirty-million years ago. I, being a firm Creationist, obviously disagree to the dates and therefore take another star away from the book due to my beliefs and my readers who believe the same as I. This gives the final rating to be 3 out of 5 stars and though I do not recommend it for its entirety, it does have excellent facts about being a vet and children can learn from it in certain areas.

“I received this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.”

Link for Purchase

Amazon

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

