Uncategorized

Book Review: Anna’s Crossing by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Anna's Crossing

The Synopsis:

When Anna Konig first meets Bairn, the Scottish ship carpenter of the “Charming Nancy,” their encounter is anything but pleasant. Anna is on the ship only to ensure the safe arrival of her loved ones to the New World. Hardened by years of living at sea, Bairn resents toting these naive farmers–dubbed “Peculiars” by deckhands–across the ocean. As delays, storms, illness, and diminishing provisions afflict crew and passengers alike, Bairn finds himself drawn to Anna’s serene nature. For her part, Anna can’t seem to stay below deck and far away from the aloof ship’s carpenter, despite warnings.
When an act of sacrifice leaves Anna in a perilous situation, Bairn discovers he may not have left his faith as firmly in the past as he thought. But has the revelation come too late?
Amish fiction favorite Suzanne Woods Fisher brings her fans back to the beginning of Amish life in America with this fascinating glimpse into the first ocean crossing as seen through the eyes of a devout young woman and an irreverent man. Blending the worlds of Amish and historical fiction, Fisher is sure to delight her longtime fans even as she attracts new ones with her superb and always surprise-filled writing.

My Review:

I typically don’t look twice at an Amish novel, not because I have anything against Amish, but because I find Amish fiction to all have the same story with only different characters by different authors, but Anna’s Crossing enticed me because of the immigrant crossing from Germany to America. I absolutely love books where the story is set on a ship on the high seas battling storms, sicknesses, and sailors full of mischief, books like this will almost always please my hunger for adventure! So, I had to give Anna’s Crossing a chance for this purpose alone, and I was completely impressed with it!

The characters were extremely well made and the scenes so detailed that I felt as if I was aboard the Charming Nancy through every flip of a page. The ship was explained throughout the story so you knew how it was laid-out and I could visually see it’s majestic form! The plot was refreshing for an Amish fiction novel and I loved how Anna portrayed her beliefs through actions rather than simply announcing her beliefs for all to hear and then rebelling against them in her actions. I also loved Felix, he was by far the best character in this story and I was so glad that the author wrote a few chapters in his point of view, it made the book lighter and gave it some humor!

Even with all of the above, I did find myself skipping sections because the detail and explanations for how characters felt overrode the story and became mundane. Bairn’s revelation/past was also extremely predictable, I would have enjoyed the book much more if the author would have hidden his past better and shocked the reader to speechlessness! But, I still rate Anna’s Crossing 4 out of 5 stars and though I cannot promise to read more Amish fiction by this author, I do look forward to reading more sea-fairing adventures should Suzanne Fisher decided to write more!

“I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”

Author Bio:

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling, award winning author of fiction and non-fiction books about the Old Order Amish for Revell Books, host of the radio-show-turned-blog Amish Wisdom, a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazine.

Her interest in the Amish began with her grandfather, who was raised Plain. A theme in her books (her life!) is that you don’t have to “go Amish” to incorporate the principles of simple living.

Suzanne lives in California with her family and raises puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind. To her way of thinking, you just can’t life too seriously when a puppy is tearing through your house with someone’s underwear in its mouth.

Suzanne can be found on-line at:www.suzannewoodsfisher.com

Link for Purchase: 

Amazon 

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

