Uncategorized

Book Review: Dauntless by Dina L Sleiman

Dauntless

The Synopsis: 

Though once a baron’s daughter, Lady Merry Ellison is willing to go to any lengths to protect the orphaned children of her former village. Dubbed “The Ghosts of Farthingale Forest,” her band of followers soon become enemies of the throne when they hijack ill-gotten gold meant for the king.

Timothy Grey, ninth child of the Baron of Greyham, longs to perform some feat so legendary that he will rise from obscurity and earn a title of his own. When the Ghosts of Farthingale Forest are spotted in Wyndeshire, where he serves as assistant to the local earl, he might have found his chance. But when he comes face-to-face with the leader of the thieves, will he choose fame or love?

My Review: 

Dina Sleiman actually stopped by my blog specifically and asked me to review her book for her. Of course I said “yes” so I received this book on her compliments and below is my review 🙂

Dauntless is a very well written book that has an exciting new twist on the original “Robin Hood” story. Dina has a very engaging writing style and a talent for creating characters; and when I say talent, I really mean talent! There are so many different (mentioned) characters in this book that I thought the author was going to duplicate personalities, roles, etc. but surprisingly each character was his/her own and there were no duplicates. It is rare to have that many functioning characters in a single book (of about 300 pages) so I applaud the author for her success!

The love triangle was charming, though I did get annoyed with Merry about halfway into the book and may have accidentally rolled my eyes when she finally chose the right guy*guilty shrug*….Needless to say, the story is completely predictable, however, it has many unpredictable subplots that will satisfy those of us who need surprises. The emotion was captured very well in the scenes that needed emotion and the details were not overbearing. So all in all, I thoroughly enjoyed Dauntless and will go ahead and rate it 5 out of 5 stars.

I can almost promise you that I will be reading book two, Chivalrous, when it comes out in September (must finish the story!).

Thanks for reading!

Author Bio: 

Dina Sleiman writes stories of passion and grace. Most of the time you will find this Virginia Beach resident reading, biking, dancing, or hanging out with her husband and three children, preferably at the oceanfront. Since finishing her Professional Writing MA in 1994, she has enjoyed many opportunities to teach literature, writing, and the arts. Dina also serves as an acquisitions and content editor for WhiteFire Publishing. For more info visit her at http://dinasleiman.com/ or check out her latest series athttp://valiantheartsseries.blogspot.c….

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dauntless by Dina L Sleiman”

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

