Uncategorized

Book Review: Every Bride Needs a Groom by Janice Thompson

Every Bride Needs A Groom

I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.

The Synopsis: 

Small-town girl Katie Fisher is planning her wedding. Sure, her boyfriend hasn’t managed to pop the question just yet, but that doesn’t mean she shouldn’t enter a contest in “Texas Bride” magazine to win the dress of her dreams, right? But when her boyfriend breaks up with her and takes a job in another town–the very same day Katie wins her dream dress–her world is turned upside down. Should she claim her prize? And will the hunky former pro-basketball player who runs the swanky Dallas bridal shop–yeah, you read that right–catch on to her humiliation if she does?
Janice Thompson designs a romance sure to delight, with plenty of fish-out-of-water moments, a hilarious supporting cast, and more of the wedding biz world her readers adore.

My Review: 

The previous book that I read (A Bouquet of Love)  by this author still stands to be one of the most entertaining contemporary novels that I have ever read and this book is not far behind! The characters are so well made and the setting so perfect that I could probably read this book over and over again! The cover is beautifully designed and Janice’s writing is just wonderful. Though the plot is completely predictable, it is lots of fun to read and I anxiously await Every Girl Gets Confused, book 2 of which comes out October 2015, to finish the story of Katie Fisher!

I highly recommend Every Bride Needs a Groom and rate it 5 out of 5 stars! Thank you for reading my review!

Author Bio: 

*Taken from Goodreads*

My name is Janice Thompson. (You will find me published under Janice Hanna, Janice Hanna Thompson, Janice A. Thompson as well.)

I’m a Christian freelance author of novels, non-fiction books, magazine articles and musical comedies for the stage. I live in the Houston area, where the heat and humidity tend to reign, regardless of the season.

I’m the mother of four beautiful daughters, (Randi, Courtney Rae, Megan and Courtney Elizabeth. Yes, I really do have two daughters named Courtney! Long story…) I also have the three prettiest granddaughters any Nana could hope for – Madysen Lynae, Avery Rae and Peyton Renae. Grandbaby #4, Ethan Ames, was just born in the winter of ‘09 and baby Boston Craig just arrived in the spring of ‘10. Another baby girl is on the way – baby Brooke!

Our family is extremely active in local ministry. My oldest daughter, Randi, leads worship in the Houston area, Courtney Rae leads worship at her church in Montana, Megan works with children at our local church and Courtney Elizabeth sings on the worship team at her church in Michigan. I’m thrilled to have four grown daughters who love the Lord (and several granddaughters who one day will)!

What I Do

I’m a writer by trade, but wear many other hats, as well. Currently, I spend a lot of my time working as a freelance editor and teaching writing. I enjoy public speaking (promoting books, or teaching from the Bible). Please see my speaking topics page for more information. These days I’m also very busy with my new online writing course, “Becoming a Successful Freelance Writer.” To learn more, visit my site:www.freelancewritingcourses.com

I home-schooled my four daughters (for eleven years) carrying them each through to graduation. I taught drama and creative writing for several years at a Christian school of the arts. I’ve also directed a youth choir and stayed active in the home-school community (including public speaking to local home-school groups). I directed the “Out There! Drama Ministry” – a group of artists in their teens and twenties who traveled the globe presenting the gospel message through the arts.

I am passionate about my faith and do all I can to share the joy of the Lord with others, which is why I particularly enjoy writing.

Why I Write

I’ve been writing since childhood. In fact, the first novel I remember crafting was in the sixth grade. I had consumed every Bobbsey Twins book on the shelves and ached for another one, so I created a new adventure for the characters I had grown to love. Of course, I was far too young to understand the concept of plagiarism at that time! I started writing “seriously” in the early 90’s. Since then, I’ve been blessed to have nearly fifty articles published, along with several novels.

NOTE: Please visit my media page for photos, official author bio, book discussion guides and more.

Published Works

It’s getting to be quite a long list, so just click here to take a look-see! 🙂

*NOTE FROM JANICE*

Those of you who’ve been reading my romances over the past several years know me as Janice A. Thompson. My joy is mixed with a smidgeon of sorrow as I explain the change in my last name for some of my current releases.

I recently lost my father to bone marrow cancer. His last name (Hanna) is my maiden name—and it’s a name that means even more to me now that he is gone. In memory of my father, I will be using the Hanna name in my upcoming Barbour and Summerside books. My Revell books will still release under Janice Thompson.

Link for Purchase: 

Amazon

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

