Uncategorized

Happy To Be Alive Because……Lexie Fell in Love with a Book! 

My lovely sister, Lexie (as you probably guessed from the title), recently fell in love with a book, and I mean head over heels, tears when it ended, and looking at every other fabulous book with disgust……Okay, so maybe that’s a little dramatic, but I’m serious that the little sister who hates reading read a 301 page book in two days flat! 

When Lexie started the book, it was kind of a relunctant, “I’m gonna force myself to read this because it slightly interests me, but I would rather watch the story than read it.” I could tell this because of several reasons; one, she held the book barely between her fingertips and held it away from her as if it might bite her; and two, I’m her sister and I know her really well 😉 

About an hour later I walked into her room and stumbled backwards as I realized that she was STILL reading! Knowing better than to draw attention to it, I causually walked out without a word (and passed out as soon as the door was closed). 

Again, about an hour later I was coming in to help Mom with dinner and there Lexie was, on the front porch rocking chair with this book clutched in her hands. Still refusing to draw attention to it, but dying to say something, I asked what part she was at and of course she told me and followed it up with, “This is really good!” 

Skipping forward to the next day….she has bags under her eyes and looks like everyone does on New Years Day, completely exhausted. I asked if she slept all right and she was like, “Once I put the book down….but that was at like 3:30 this morning…so I’m kinda tired.” 

She finished the book that day. Skipping meals. Only coming out of her room to use the restroom. Yes, it was a very different Lexie those two days. 

But what makes it all better is the look on her face when she asked for the next book that this author had. 

“This is her first and only book Lexie. She doesn’t have anymore.” 

  
So you see…I had a very hard time getting my book back as Lexie threatned to read it over again immediately after she finished it (but I wanted to re-read it so we had a delimma..). 

Anyways, if Lexie (being the total tomboy, outdoorsy girl, and anti-romance person); If she loved this book, then I can pretty much promise that every female alive will love Happy To Be Alive, Because by Chelsea Jacobs! 

  
BUT BEWARE! THAT IS HER ONLY BOOK! 

6 thoughts on “Happy To Be Alive Because……Lexie Fell in Love with a Book! ”

  1. This is wonderful!!! 😀

    My oldest niece (she’s 14) has always claimed to hate — or at least greatly dislike — reading. This has been a big disappointment to her mom, my sister, & I because we all love to read! But nothing we said could convince her that reading could be fun. 😦 Then she discovered a book (one her mom required her to read for school) that she had a super hard time putting down. She went on & on about how good it was. So, when she finished it, my sis-in-law recommended a series to her that we both loved. I saw her reading it this past week at my Grandma’s house and what a shock I got! She was pacing from the bedroom to the livingroom, raving to her mom about some of the things that went on in the book and how she couldn’t believe she hadn’t thought to bring the second book because she was almost finished with the first one and couldn’t wait to start the second one because she just HAD to know what happened next! I don’t know how we managed, but we remained calm….. until she left the room. Then the huge grins popped out & we started squealing excitedly — she’s discovering the wonders of reading & we’re so happy for her!! 😀

    1. Yes it is! It’s wonderful for your niece too! I love it when those who claim to hate reading suddenly have a light bulb moment and are even crazier than those of us who are already insane! I’m working really hard on finding Lexie another book/series but I’m afraid that I’ve hit a dead end. What were the books that your niece enjoyed?

  2. I loved this post! I couldn’t help but smile while reading. Soooo happy your sister found a book that she was unable to put down! As very frequent readers it makes my heart jump for joy when a non-reader finds a special book!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

