Uncategorized

John 3:16-Summer Scripture Memorization Week #1

Summertime is a time greatly anticipated by pretty much everyone as the small break in the year to vacation, relax, have fun, or visit family. But summertime is also a great time to set goals because the pace of summer is slower and allows you to breath and concentrate.  

My church has set a goal of memorizing 10 scripture verses over the summer; one scripture a week. I’ve decided that in addition to memorizing the scriptures, I also want to meditate on the scriptures and share my thoughts here every week. I hope that you will join me this summer in reading my thoughts here or even challenging yourself to memorize scripture along with me; or maybe you already have a few memorized and have thoughts to share yourself, so please feel free to reblog any of these posts or comment as you feel lead 🙂 

Last week’s (or rather two weeks ago) memory verse was John 3:16, and I can confidently say that I have this verse memorized in several different translations. Most of us probably do, but there is always that new way of looking at it. 

John 3:16 says: 

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” 

In my Bible I have this verse highlighted and I wrote beside it, “God is a giver.” He gave His only Son. This scripture not only tells us that God loves us enough to sacrifice Himself so that we can be with Him for all of eternity, it tells us that God is a giving God and that He willingly chose to give us a second chance to be with Him. 

One of God’s many, many characteristics is that of being a giver, He loves to give His creation the desires of their hearts’ (Ps 37:4). So the question is, what is God trying to give you? Is He still trying to give you His Son or is He trying to give you something that you asked for, but in a different way than you thought He would do it? Why haven’t you taken hold of it yet?  What’s holding you back? 

Is John 3:16 already written on your heart and bound with you whereve you go? Do you have any other insights to add to my post? If so please comment! 

This week’s scripture (of which started June 14 and ends June 21) is Romans 3:23. Do you know it? I’ll try to get back on schedule (I started this a little late) and post Week #2 either tomorrow or Saturday 🙂 

1 thought on “John 3:16-Summer Scripture Memorization Week #1”

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

