Uncategorized

Book Review: Beyond the Ashes by Karen Barnett

image

I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.

The Synopsis:

 Where better to rebuild and face one s fears than in 1906 San Francisco, a city rising from the ashes? Ruby Marshall, a young widow, is certain she ll discover new purpose assisting her brother Robert with his cancer research, but she doesn t anticipate finding new love. Dr. Gerald Larkspur dreams of filling his empty home with family, but he d always hoped it would be a wife and children. In the aftermath of the great earthquake, the rooms are overflowing with extended family and friends left homeless by the disaster. When Robert s widowed sister arrives, the close quarters seem close indeed. Ruby and Gerald s fledgling romance is put at risk when Gerald develops symptoms of the very disease they re striving to cure. Together they must ask is it worth a second chance at love when time might be short?”

My Review: 

My very favorite book has a setting much like this one, where the town (Chicago) was completely burned to the ground and the characters worked together to bring restoration back to their home, so I thought that I would give this book a try in hopes that it would be as good as my favorite. I was not disappointed at all with Beyond the Ashes and in fact I have a new favorite book as well as a favorite author! Karen Barnett has a beautiful writing style that holds you in place as you read her carefully researched work of art. I absolutely loved her characters and the fact that there is no promise of a “happily-ever-after” just made it that much better. I am going to be (hopefully) buying the first book and can’t wait until the next book in this series comes out!

Thank you for reading my review and have a blessed day.

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

