Uncategorized

A Sneak Peak From Genuine Youth

Before I begin anything, I am going to say that I have the absolute best Youth Group in the whole world. My leaders are absolutely amazing and I don’t think that anyone could have better. Just sayin’.

Genuine Youth is not a big group, as we only have about 15 to 20 youth attending currently, but during the school year we can have as many as 50 and we usually do. The summertime, however, the numbers dwindle because of vacations and all that jazz, but, its probably my favorite time for several reasons. First; because we are a smaller, more intimate group. Not a “click” mind you, but just a small group of friends that get to grow in the Lord together and keep each other accountable without all of the school drama. Second; obviously because of the summer activities that we do together, not only because they are a blast (trust me they are) but because in those activities we have the opportunities (and are often pushed) to come out of our comfort zones, building our characters. And thirdly; because during the summer, our leaders focus more on our growth as Christians rather than saving the lost who may be attending during the school year. I love the heart of Genuine Youth and I love that so many during the school year come to get refreshed and find Jesus as their Lord and Saviour, but us Christians need some refreshing too; and that’s where the summer sermons come in.

This past week’s “sermon” was given by one of the newer youth leaders, but even though she’s kinda new, it was so powerful. She preached on how we are God’s Masterpiece. Or rather, how we were God’s masterpiece and then became dirty with sin and how we must be restored to our original beauty via chiseling.  As much as I want to say everything in my own words, I think that it would be best if I just showed you the video that she showed us; its an amazing video and I really encourage you to watch it. Its about 11 minutes long, but it will change the way you look at yourself, and the way you look at others around you. Please watch it (and don’t worry, its not a boring, serious video; it has some humor!)!

I sincerely hope that you watched that, and if you did; was that not amazing?! It was so well done!

So, are living like God’s masterpiece? Are you allowing him to chisel the things that need to be chiseled or are you holding onto them because you are uncertain of the future? It’s okay to be in that position, I discovered that I was. But no matter how much it hurts to let go, you will be so much more beautiful without it. 

Thanks so much for reading and be sure to drop a comment if you have questions or, well comments 🙂 . Have a fantabulous day!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

