Uncategorized

NaNoWriMo, Yep, I Broke Down and Signed Up

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

Honestly, I still can’t believe that I just signed up for this. After all, November is chock-full of speech deadlines and tournaments, my short story for the Rooglewood Press contest needs to be finished by December, I have family, friends, and yes, even acquaintances nagging me to finish A Queen is Knighted, and then you can’t forget all of the birthdays, and Thanksgiving, and Christmas preparations, and….you get the idea. It really doesn’t seem realistic to start and finish a 50K word novel in 30 days, and I nearly passed up this opportunity because of all of the above. However, I was struck with the sudden thought that if I waited until a November appeared that wasn’t busy, then I would never do it.

NaNoWriMo is probably the best way to get motivated to write something, I learned this from the camp in April. No, I didn’t finish my novel in April, and thats okay, because I learned so much about myself and my writing style that it was successful in my opinion. I’m not going in this Novemberย with the goal of winning, yes I do aim to win, but my goal is to learn how to operate better with a deadline and to push myself to do the impossible.

I have a good idea for a novel that is something far different than I’ve ever written before and I don’t know if its one that will ever make it to stores, but it is going to be created in the month of November and it is going to be created to the best of my abilities.

So if you are a writer still contemplating on whether or not to join NaNoWriMo, just go for it. What’s the worst that could happen? You don’t achieve your goal? That’s okay. You’re not putting money in, only time. And even if you fall a few words short of your goal, look at what you still accomplished. You’re time wasn’t wasted because you still got those words written down. You can do this!

Are you a 2015 NaNoer? Is this your first year? Are you scared to death like *yours truly* or are you confident that you’ve got this in the bag?ย 

If you are participating and would like to be Buddies with me, look me up ๐Ÿ™‚ “Ragdogs”ย 

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, Yep, I Broke Down and Signed Up”

  1. You’re cray-cray ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you finish in time! I’m personally not doing (for some of the reasons you listed), but I bet you’ll have fun ๐Ÿ˜‰ Well, I hope you’ll have fun. i’ve heard it’s a lot of work.

  2. I admire you for going ahead and doing that! ๐Ÿ™‚ I too always have a very busy November schedule. That’s why I’ve never participated in Nanowrimo. I do think I need a push in my writing, but I’m just trying to sort out finding time for my priorities before I begin extra things. I may join some time in the future, though! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. I totally understand, that was me last year haha. Though I do recommend that you try to do one of the camps before trying for the real deal in November. I did the one in April and it really helped to prepare me for what to expect and such. I hope that you do get to join and thanks for stopping by!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

