Uncategorized

Book Review: Shades of Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

Shades of Doon

I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.

The Synopsis: 

After cheating death, Veronica Welling is determined to savor every moment in her idyllic kingdom with both her true love and best friend by her side at last. At the same time, Mackenna Reid is enthusiastically building her new life and a theater with her prince. But just as their dreams of happiness are within reach, the world Vee and Kenna have chosen is ripped away, leaving them to face their most horrific challenge yet—their old lives.

Thrust out of Doon, the best friends are confronted with tormentors from their past and no way to return to their adopted land. When the MacCrae brothers rush to their rescue, the girls’ situation turns from nightmare to modern-day fairy tale. But their happiness could be short lived: unbeknownst to them, someone in their closest circle is aiding the witch of Doon in her bid to destroy the kingdom once and for all.

My Review:

As I read Shades of Doon, I was under the impression that this was the last book in the series, why? I’m not sure. So, I’ll start by saying that this is NOT the last book! The cliff-hanger ending will make certain that you know this!

Once again, we travel to the mystical kingdom of Doon with four charming characters who are sure to steal your hearts. Much like the first two books in the series, we encounter trials, romance, adventure, and of course, magic. The romance is a bit sappy but not over the top and the adventure keeps the book firmly in your hands.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Shades of Doon and look forward (anxiously) to book 4 which is already titled Forever Doon (last one? I’m scared to guess..). I rate it 4 out of 5 stars.

Thanks so much for reading!

1 thought on “Book Review: Shades of Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon”

  1. I enjoy this series. As you say, the romance can be sketchy at times (maybe for me it’s because I’m so far past these characters age), but there are also some really mature, beautiful moments, which makes it all worthwhile. 🙂

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

