Adult Fiction

Book Review: The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder by Rachel McMillan

Guide to Murder

I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are entirely my own.

The Synopsis: 

In 1910 Toronto, while other bachelor girls perfect their domestic skills and find husbands, two friends perfect their sleuthing skills and find a murderer.

Inspired by their fascination with all things Sherlock Holmes, best friends and flatmates Merinda and Jem launch a consulting detective business. The deaths of young Irish women lead Merinda and Jem deeper into the mire of the city’s underbelly, where the high hopes of those dreaming to make a new life in Canada are met with prejudice and squalor.

While searching for answers, donning disguises, and sneaking around where no proper ladies would ever go, they pair with Jasper Forth, a police constable, and Ray DeLuca, a reporter in whom Jem takes a more than professional interest. Merinda could well be Toronto’s premiere consulting detective, and Jem may just find a way to put her bachelor girlhood behind her forever–if they can stay alive long enough to do so.

My Review:

In The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder, the readers are thrown into a world of fun suspense and mystery very similar to that of Sherlock Holmes. It is set in the early 1900s in Canada and is a light read however containing enough suspense to keep you reading.

The characters are all charming in their own unique ways as well as extremely likable. Readers who enjoyed Nancy Drew or Trixie Belden as young girls are certain to enjoy these women detectives who seem to always jump headlong into trouble. Their interesting disguises and witty conversations are sure to entertain the readers to the point of laughing out loud.

{Read Full Review Here}

Advertisements

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s