Writing

Wisteria Writer Tag

image2

I was (unofficially) tagged for the Wisteria Writer Tag by Lilly over at Living by Chapters! Check her blog out its quite fabulous!

The Rules

Thank the blogger who nominated you.

Answer the ten questions asked.

Add ten (writing or book related) of your own.

Nominate ten people.

The Questions and My Answers

1. When did you start writing and why?

The earliest piece of writing I have is when I was 6, in which I was writing the story of my life up to that point in my young life. I remember reading the biography of Mark Twain before that and deciding that the world would not be complete without a biography of next Mark Twain! So that was the humble beginning of my writing venture πŸ™‚Β 

2. What/who inspired you to begin writing?

Well, like I said in the above answer, Mark Twain was (and continues to be) inspiration for the beginning of my writing. But I also owe credit to Jules Verne, Jack London and of course Martha Finely.

3. What are your favorite genres to write about?

I find that I enjoy writing war fantasy and contemporary romance the most. I also really enjoy writing inspirational, contemporary fiction. An odd combination is it not?

4. What books do you hope to publish in the future, and/or have already published?

Well I certainly want to see A Queen is Knighted in print someday, but I also have a fantasy short story (The Doors of the Kingdoms) and a romance novel (A Ring’s Worth) than I would like to see published too, but those will be after A Queen is Knighted.

5. Have you inspired anyone to start writing?

I have offered many suggestions and tips to several different girls who have thought of writing books and to my knowledge they have taken off with it, so I suppose that I have πŸ™‚

6. What is the best compliment you have ever received on one of your pieces of writing?

When it comes to my fiction, the best compliment was that “I have a natural gift of plotting”. But the compliment that always comes to mind, that was the most meaningful to me was about my writing in general, I was told by a very special family member that “I have a very good grasp of the English language” and it meant a lot to hear that.

7. What is the best book/story you have ever written?

Best? As in most popular or my personal favorite? My most popular would be my Chess stories but my personal favorite would be A Queen is Knighted, and The Doors of the Kingdoms.

8. What advice would you give to aspiring authors?

Don’t be scared of a sloppy first draft! Its going to be terrible I promise! You’re going to read over it and want to throw it away but that’s what the editing process is for. If you edit as you go the book will never get finished because you’ll pour all of your time and energy into making it look perfect before it’s even finished. Take it from me, that’s why I’m going on 4 years of writing A Queen is Knighted and it’s not even finished.

9. Which authors do you hope to meet someday?

I would really like to meet two of my many writing mentors, Norma Horton and Cindy Vincent. Though we’ve only spoken through email I would absolutely love to one day meet them both and just have coffee and pick their brains πŸ™‚

10. Where do you hope to be as a writer in 10 years?

I would love to be a published author, but I really hope to be an established editor or literary agent in 10 years.

My Questions:

  1. If you could have the life of any main character in any book, who would you become?
  2. Do you prefer reading books in 1st or 3rd person?
  3. Do you prefer writing books/stories in 1st or 3rd person?
  4. Do you have a music playlist for when reading or writing? What does it mainly consist of?
  5. Which author stands out to you as having one of the most unique writing styles? What makes it unique to you?
  6. Do you prefer physical copies or ebooks when reading and which would you like to see your future masterpiece as?
  7. Is your favorite spot to write outside with the breeze gently cooling your face or inside, curled up comfortable on your bed?
  8. Tell us a little bit about your current writing project.
  9. Do you enjoy writing romance scenes or would you rather avoid them at all costs?
  10. Write a one paragraph story using the 3 following words: Pun, Sparks, and Jaywalk.

My Nominees!

Hallie @Hallie Sadler

Suzy @Craftzncraziness

Alyssa @writinganyone

And any other writers who I may have failed to remember! (I follow so many different blogs, all of them amazing by the way, I just have a hard time remembering names and links…..)

Thank you again Lily and I hope my nominees enjoy answering the (tough) questions πŸ™‚

-Rayleigh

3 thoughts on “Wisteria Writer Tag”

  1. Hi, Rayleigh! I’ve been reading your blog for awhile but haven’t got around to commenting yet. But here I am now :D. This was a really fun post to read! I’m going to need to steal this tag, it looks like so much fun!

    1. Hey Savannah! I’m so glad you’ve been hangin’ around! It was a lot of fun to do and I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚ You can leave a link to your post, once you get it posted, back here in the comments if you’d like, I’d love to read your answers!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

