Create a backstory, Uncategorized

Create a Backstory #1

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 3.57.25 PM

Create a Backstory is beginning! On the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of every month I will post a picture of a character (male, female, human or not) in which the participants will either comment or post on their own blogs the following requirements.

  1. First and Last name
  2. What type of world they grew up in
  3. A one or more paragraph snippet of what their story would be like.
  4. (OPTIONAL) A short scene that would be written to open the story.
  5. THE BACKSTORIES MUST BE VOID OF SEXUAL SCENES/OVERLY GRAPHIC GORE/ AND CUSSING!

Here’s an example of what the post would look like:

book-15584_1920

Amanda Schultz

A high school student in a small town in Texas.

Amanda’s life is so repetitive and messy. She hates the never-ending amount of homework piled up on her bed; she’s usually an organized person, but clothes are scattered all around her floor because she’s never home to clean; and her friends have so much drama going on that she can’t ever get a break. All she wants is to be able to have some fun with friends who hate drama as much as she does and get away. So on the first day of summer, she packs her bags and heads out on a road trip across the country, making new friends and running into danger all along the way.

Look like something you would enjoy participating in? I hope so, because I have a couple of bonuses that I’d like to add. As I said at the beginning of this post, whoever participates can either leave a comment with your backstory or you can take it and post it on your own blog and leave the link in the comments. The following Thursday (so the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of every month), I will post my 3 favorite backstories here and link back to those blogs!

I don’t know how well this will work but I got some feedback from a few readers and I think that at least a few of you will really enjoy this! All of the pictures I use for characters will be found on Pinterest and I’ll do my best to give photo credit, but it’s really hard to hunt down the original photographer off of Pinterest….

Anyways, here is the character in need of a backstory for August 4th!

2d74addb5c185e2666a0707078ec44e0
Pinterest

Remember that if you participate though your own blog, leave me a link so I can read your backstory! Happy writing!!!

7 thoughts on “Create a Backstory #1”

  1. Hi! 😀 This sounds like fun, but I probably won’t do all of the things… could I maybe do it if I see one I like once? Or just for fun sometime if I decide to? Cause I don’t think I’ll do it every time. .. ?

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

