Encouragement, Guest Post

The Eternal Hope of Jesus-Guest Kayla Johansen

Today, I have the pleasure of introducing a guest! Kayla Johansen is a blogger over at Kingdom Writer, however I am acquainted with her through Pursue Magazine. She has a lovely column titled Road Less Traveled, in which she encourages our readers to take that road after Christ that is, yes, the one less traveled. It’s an absolute pleasure to be able to feature her today, so I hope that you enjoy her post.

 

Adobe Spark

 

The Eternal Hope of Jesus

Hello! I’m Kayla! Rayleigh is kind enough to let me take over her blog for the day, so let’s get going!

So I had a post all planned out, and I’d started on it and everything, but then the Texas church shooting happened. And suddenly, what I was going to write didn’t seem as important, at least not when there were other more important things to talk about. So, here goes.

We live in a fallen world. We live in world where 58 people can be killed at a concert and then one month later, half of a church body is killed. It’s not fair. It’s not okay.

We might ask why God would let such things happen. He’s omnipotent, and He’s loving, isn’t He? So why doesn’t He just stop these terrible things from happening?

It’s easy to despair in times such as these of our circumstances, to question God, to question His goodness, and to even question our faith. Our grief and our sadness can overwhelm us. It looks like there will never be a light at the end of the tunnel, that we’ll constantly be bouncing from one terrible thing to another. I get it.

But let me just say something crazy. Even in the midst of all this violence and sin, there is hope.

Jesus reigns eternally in heaven, even in the midst of all of these bad things. He is always here, in the thick of things. He never once said that He was going to leave us to sort through all the world’s troubles on our own. Rather, He said that He would give us the Holy Spirit to live in us and help us through it all.

And for that reason, we don’t need to despair. We can live in hope eternal, because Jesus reigns over all.

Life might be troublesome right now, and things might look grim. We might not see how things could possibly get any better, but here’s the beautiful thing: God holds so much more wisdom, knowledge, and power than we do. Even the impossible is possible with God.

He can (and He will) turn all this mess into something good. We simply need to rest in Him and trust Him to just be Himself. It will all work out. I promise.

When hope seems lost, turn to Scripture. Read through the Psalms, soak up the knowledge that God is with us and reigns supreme. Turn on some worship music and praise God. Praise Him in the storms of our life. Set our eyes on Him, and the troubles of this world will no longer have such a deadly grip on us.

Let me just leave you all with some Scripture.

“Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am in distress. Tears blur my eyes. My body and soul are withering away. I am dying from grief; my years are shortened by sadness. Sin has drained my strength; I am wasting away from within. . . But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands. Rescue me from those who hunt me down relentlessly. Let your favor shine on your servant. In your unfailing love, rescue me. . . Be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the Lord!”

Psalm 31:9-10, 14-16, 24

Isn’t that just awesome? It’s such a beautiful picture of trusting God to come to the rescue.

What about you guys? Do you have any Bible verses that you turn to when you need to be reminded of God’s love and protection? Leave them in the comments! Also, be sure to check out Rayleigh’s guest post on my blog here!

Thanks again for having me, Rayleigh!

I love hearing from you! Comment below to tell me what you think!

